Portage Community School District

Public school district · Columbia County · Wisconsin · NCES district ID 5512060

Portage Community School District spent $13,755 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 53% of the other Wisconsin districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,856). Its 8 schools enrolled 1,956 students in 2024-25; 47.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,698 per student, up 14.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Wisconsin: 90.5%).

Spending per student among Wisconsin districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Portage Community in enrollment (1,999 to 2,186 students) and Portage Community itself.

Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Portage Community, FY23Cudahy $16,434; Waupaca $15,223; Rice Lake Area $15,081; Arrowhead UHS $13,836; Portage Community $13,755; Antigo Unified $13,478; Plymouth Joint $12,891; New London $12,775; Grafton $12,638; Luxemburg-Casco $12,463; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k12k14k16k18kCudahy$16,434Waupaca$15,223Rice Lake Area$15,081Arrowhead UHS$13,836Portage Community$13,755Antigo Unified$13,478Plymouth Joint$12,891New London$12,775Grafton$12,638Luxemburg-Casco$12,463State median, 1,000+ students $13,856
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Portage Community, FY23Cudahy $16,434; Waupaca $15,223; Rice Lake Area $15,081; Arrowhead UHS $13,836; Portage Community $13,755; Antigo Unified $13,478; Plymouth Joint $12,891; New London $12,775; Grafton $12,638; Luxemburg-Casco $12,463; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k12k14k16k18kCudahy$16,434Waupaca$15,223Rice Lake Area$15,081Arrowhead UHS$13,836Portage Community$13,755Antigo Unified$13,478Plymouth Joint$12,891New London$12,775Grafton$12,638Luxemburg-Casco$12,463State median, 1,000+ students $13,856
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Portage Community, FY23Cudahy $16,434; Waupaca $15,223; Rice Lake Area $15,081; Arrowhead UHS $13,836; Portage Community $13,755; Antigo Unified $13,478; Plymouth Joint $12,891; New London $12,775; Grafton $12,638; Luxemburg-Casco $12,463; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k14k18kCudahy$16,434Waupaca$15,223Rice Lake Area$15,081Arrowhead UHS$13,836Portage Community$13,755Antigo Unified$13,478Plymouth Joint$12,891New London$12,775Grafton$12,638Luxemburg-Casco$12,463State median, 1,000+ students $13,856
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Portage Community, FY23Cudahy $16,434; Waupaca $15,223; Rice Lake Area $15,081; Arrowhead UHS $13,836; Portage Community $13,755; Antigo Unified $13,478; Plymouth Joint $12,891; New London $12,775; Grafton $12,638; Luxemburg-Casco $12,463; State median, 1,000+ students $13,856.10k14k18kCudahy$16,434Waupaca$15,223Rice Lake Area$15,081Arrowhead UHS$13,836Portage Community$13,755Antigo Unified$13,478Plymouth Joint$12,891New London$12,775Grafton$12,638Luxemburg-Casco$12,463State median, 1,000+ students $13,856

Where the money came from

$37,294,000 in revenue: 47.3% state, 42.1% local and 10.6% federal. Total spending including $4,409,000 of capital outlay was $37,329,000, or $17,641 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Portage Community School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $17,653,000; Local $15,705,000; Federal $3,936,000; total $37,294,000.
  • State$17,653,000 47%
  • Local$15,705,000 42%
  • Federal$3,936,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 190 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,088 students in 2022-23, 2,033 students in 2023-24, 1,956 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Portage Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,088, 2023-24: 2,033, 2024-25: 1,95601k2k3k2022-232,0882023-242,0332024-251,956
Portage Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,088, 2023-24: 2,033, 2024-25: 1,95601k2k3k2022-232,0882023-242,0332024-251,956
Portage Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,088, 2023-24: 2,033, 2024-25: 1,95601k2k3k2022-232,0882023-242,0332024-251,956
Portage Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,088, 2023-24: 2,033, 2024-25: 1,95601k2k3k2022-232,0882023-242,0332024-251,956

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,088158.313.2
2023-242,033154.713.1
2024-251,956152.012.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$9,734,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,600 per student

Portage Community School District booked $9,734,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 158 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $61,502 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 12 in 100 Wisconsin districts with a figure (state median $69,818, 412 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$6,909,00071.0%
Special education$1,898,00019.5%
Vocational$580,0006.0%
Other programs$347,0003.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,284 in 2018-19, $4,225 in 2019-20, $4,524 in 2020-21, $4,674 in 2021-22, $4,600 in 2022-23.

Portage Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,284, 2019-20: $4,225, 2020-21: $4,524, 2021-22: $4,674, 2022-23: $4,60002k4k6k2018-19$4,2842019-20$4,2252020-21$4,5242021-22$4,6742022-23$4,600
Portage Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,284, 2019-20: $4,225, 2020-21: $4,524, 2021-22: $4,674, 2022-23: $4,60002k4k6k2018-19$4,2842019-20$4,2252020-21$4,5242021-22$4,6742022-23$4,600
Portage Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,284, 2019-20: $4,225, 2020-21: $4,524, 2021-22: $4,674, 2022-23: $4,60002k4k6k2018-19$4,2842019-20$4,2252020-21$4,5242021-22$4,6742022-23$4,600
Portage Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,284, 2019-20: $4,225, 2020-21: $4,524, 2021-22: $4,674, 2022-23: $4,60002k4k6k2018-19$4,2842019-20$4,2252020-21$4,5242021-22$4,6742022-23$4,600

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Portage Community School District scored proficient or above: 32-36% in reading and 36-40% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Wisconsin, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtWisconsinStudents tested
Reading and language arts32-36%38%814
Math36-40%40%816

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 194 students in Portage Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtWisconsin
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%90.5%
Students in the class19465,638

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 781 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Muir Elementary43910.747.6%Schoolwide program
Woodridge Elementary20111.946.8%Schoolwide program
Lewiston Elementary8412.626.2%Not Title I
Endeavor Elementary5712.333.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 422 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wayne Bartels Middle42213.440.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 624 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Portage High60013.626.0%Not Title I
Portage Academy of Achievement2424.012.5%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 129 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Portage Partnering Preschool12921.52.0%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Portage Community School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Portage Community School District

  1. Wisconsin districts by spending per studentPortage Community School District ranks 101 of 190 Wisconsin districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,755).#101 of 190
  2. Every school district in WisconsinPortage Community School District is the number 90 by size of 451 Wisconsin districts, with 2,116 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#90 of 451
  3. Rice Lake Area School DistrictThe next larger Wisconsin district: 2,186 students in fall 2022, $15,081 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,081
  4. Plymouth Joint School DistrictThe next smaller Wisconsin district: 2,110 students in fall 2022, $12,891 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,891
  5. Compare Portage Community School District with Rice Lake Area School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Portage High, its largest high school600 students in 2024-25, 13.6 per teacher.600
  7. Teacher salary spending across WisconsinPortage Community School District spent $61,502 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $69,818); spending, not a salary.$61,502
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Portage Community School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Portage Community School District?
    8 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high, 1 other), enrolling 1,956 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Portage Community School District spend per student?
    $13,755 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Wisconsin median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,856 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,698 per student, up 14.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Portage Community School District's money come from?
    $37,294,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 47.3% state, 42.1% local and 10.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Portage Community School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 197 of the 2,387 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Portage Community School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $9,734,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,600 per student. Divided by the 158 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $61,502 per teacher, more than 12 in 100 Wisconsin districts (state median $69,818). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Portage Community School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Portage Community School District scored proficient or above: 32-36% in reading and 36-40% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Wisconsin's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Portage Community School District?
    90-94% of the 194 students in Portage Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Portage Community School District's NCES district ID?
    5512060. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25