Hopewell City Public Schools

Public school district · Hopewell city · Virginia · NCES district ID 5101980

Hopewell City Public Schools spent $16,800 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 78% of the other Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,972). Its 6 schools enrolled 3,949 students in 2024-25; 56.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,059 per student, up 1.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 84% (Virginia: 88.8%).

Spending per student among Virginia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hopewell City Public Schools in enrollment (3,750 to 4,241 students) and Hopewell City Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Hopewell City Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k12k14k16k18kFredericksburg City Public Sch…$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Scho…$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Hopewell City Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k12k14k16k18kFredericksburg City Public Schools$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Schools$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Hopewell City Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k14k18kFredericksburg City Public Schools$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Schools$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Hopewell City Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k14k18kFredericksburg City Public Schools$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Schools$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972

Where the money came from

$73,279,000 in revenue: 56.9% state, 18.5% local and 24.6% federal. Total spending including $2,975,000 of capital outlay was $70,710,000, or $17,748 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Hopewell City Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $41,671,000; Local $13,553,000; Federal $18,055,000; total $73,279,000.
  • State$41,671,000 57%
  • Local$13,553,000 18%
  • Federal$18,055,000 25%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 116 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,984 students in 2022-23, 3,944 students in 2023-24, 3,949 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Hopewell City Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,984, 2023-24: 3,944, 2024-25: 3,94901k2k3k4k2022-233,9842023-243,9442024-253,949
Hopewell City Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,984, 2023-24: 3,944, 2024-25: 3,94901k2k3k4k2022-233,9842023-243,9442024-253,949
Hopewell City Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,984, 2023-24: 3,944, 2024-25: 3,94901k2k3k4k2022-233,9842023-243,9442024-253,949
Hopewell City Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,984, 2023-24: 3,944, 2024-25: 3,94901k2k3k4k2022-233,9842023-243,9442024-253,949

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,984308.012.9
2023-243,944289.113.6
2024-253,949286.313.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$19,635,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,928 per student

Hopewell City Public Schools booked $19,635,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 311 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $63,186 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 55 in 100 Virginia districts with a figure (state median $61,899, 129 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$14,464,00073.7%
Special education$3,493,00017.8%
Vocational$1,262,0006.4%
Other programs$416,0002.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,068 in 2018-19, $4,188 in 2019-20, $3,887 in 2020-21, $4,474 in 2021-22, $4,928 in 2022-23.

Hopewell City Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,068, 2019-20: $4,188, 2020-21: $3,887, 2021-22: $4,474, 2022-23: $4,92802k4k6k2018-19$4,0682019-20$4,1882020-21$3,8872021-22$4,4742022-23$4,928
Hopewell City Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,068, 2019-20: $4,188, 2020-21: $3,887, 2021-22: $4,474, 2022-23: $4,92802k4k6k2018-19$4,0682019-20$4,1882020-21$3,8872021-22$4,4742022-23$4,928
Hopewell City Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,068, 2019-20: $4,188, 2020-21: $3,887, 2021-22: $4,474, 2022-23: $4,92802k4k6k2018-19$4,0682019-20$4,1882020-21$3,8872021-22$4,4742022-23$4,928
Hopewell City Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,068, 2019-20: $4,188, 2020-21: $3,887, 2021-22: $4,474, 2022-23: $4,92802k4k6k2018-19$4,0682019-20$4,1882020-21$3,8872021-22$4,4742022-23$4,928

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

Graduation rate, class of 2023

84% of the 242 students in Hopewell City Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtVirginia
Four-year graduation rate84%88.8%
Students in the class24299,059

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 1,703 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dupont Elementary58914.5All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Patrick Copeland Elementary57913.6100.0%Schoolwide program
Harry E. James Elementary53511.397.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 803 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Carter G. Woodson Middle80312.2All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,136 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hopewell High1,13616.4All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 307 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Woodlawn Pre-School Learning Center30714.6All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Hopewell City Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Hopewell City Public Schools

  1. Virginia districts by spending per studentHopewell City Public Schools ranks 26 of 116 Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,800).#26 of 116
  2. Every school district in VirginiaHopewell City Public Schools is the number 62 by size of 132 Virginia districts, with 3,984 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#62 of 132
  3. Amherst County Public SchoolsThe next larger Virginia district: 3,987 students in fall 2022, $14,301 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,301
  4. Smyth County Public SchoolsThe next smaller Virginia district: 3,981 students in fall 2022, $15,196 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,196
  5. Compare Hopewell City Public Schools with Amherst County Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Hopewell High, its largest high school1,136 students in 2024-25, 16.4 per teacher.1,136
  7. Teacher salary spending across VirginiaHopewell City Public Schools spent $63,186 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,899); spending, not a salary.$63,186
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Hopewell City Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Hopewell City Public Schools?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 3,949 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Hopewell City Public Schools spend per student?
    $16,800 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Virginia median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,972 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,059 per student, up 1.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Hopewell City Public Schools' money come from?
    $73,279,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 56.9% state, 18.5% local and 24.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Hopewell City Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 947 of the 4,218 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 22.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Hopewell City Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $19,635,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,928 per student. Divided by the 311 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $63,186 per teacher, more than 55 in 100 Virginia districts (state median $61,899). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. What is the graduation rate in Hopewell City Public Schools?
    84% of the 242 students in Hopewell City Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Hopewell City Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    5101980. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25