Alva Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Alva (district ID 4002880)

Public school district · Woods County · Oklahoma · NCES district ID 4002880

Alva Public Schools spent $13,496 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 95% of the other Oklahoma districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $10,548). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,054 students in 2024-25; 40.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,742 per student, up 9.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Oklahoma: 81.2%).

Spending per student among Oklahoma districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Alva Public Schools in enrollment (979 to 1,081 students) and Alva Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Alva Public Schools, FY23Holdenville $13,549; Alva Public Schools $13,496; Perry $11,372; Henryetta Public School $11,304; Adair $11,045; Prague Public Schools $10,544; Sperry Public Schools $10,414; Beggs $10,312; Spiro $10,289; Lexington $9,442; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.8k10k12k14kHoldenville$13,549Alva Public Schools$13,496Perry$11,372Henryetta Public School$11,304Adair$11,045Prague Public Schools$10,544Sperry Public Schools$10,414Beggs$10,312Spiro$10,289Lexington$9,442State median, 1,000+ students $10,548
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Alva Public Schools, FY23Holdenville $13,549; Alva Public Schools $13,496; Perry $11,372; Henryetta Public School $11,304; Adair $11,045; Prague Public Schools $10,544; Sperry Public Schools $10,414; Beggs $10,312; Spiro $10,289; Lexington $9,442; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.8k10k12k14kHoldenville$13,549Alva Public Schools$13,496Perry$11,372Henryetta Public School$11,304Adair$11,045Prague Public Schools$10,544Sperry Public Schools$10,414Beggs$10,312Spiro$10,289Lexington$9,442State median, 1,000+ students $10,548
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Alva Public Schools, FY23Holdenville $13,549; Alva Public Schools $13,496; Perry $11,372; Henryetta Public School $11,304; Adair $11,045; Prague Public Schools $10,544; Sperry Public Schools $10,414; Beggs $10,312; Spiro $10,289; Lexington $9,442; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.8k10k12k14kHoldenville$13,549Alva Public Schools$13,496Perry$11,372Henryetta Public School$11,304Adair$11,045Prague Public Schools$10,544Sperry Public Schools$10,414Beggs$10,312Spiro$10,289Lexington$9,442State median, 1,000+ students $10,548
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Alva Public Schools, FY23Holdenville $13,549; Alva Public Schools $13,496; Perry $11,372; Henryetta Public School $11,304; Adair $11,045; Prague Public Schools $10,544; Sperry Public Schools $10,414; Beggs $10,312; Spiro $10,289; Lexington $9,442; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.8k10k12k14kHoldenville$13,549Alva Public Schools$13,496Perry$11,372Henryetta Public School$11,304Adair$11,045Prague Public Schools$10,544Sperry Public Schools$10,414Beggs$10,312Spiro$10,289Lexington$9,442State median, 1,000+ students $10,548

Where the money came from

$15,857,000 in revenue: 40.9% state, 49.7% local and 9.3% federal. Total spending including $1,012,000 of capital outlay was $15,035,000, or $14,471 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Alva Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,493,000; Local $7,882,000; Federal $1,482,000; total $15,857,000.
  • State$6,493,000 41%
  • Local$7,882,000 50%
  • Federal$1,482,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 132 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,039 students in 2022-23, 1,033 students in 2023-24, 1,054 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Alva Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,039, 2023-24: 1,033, 2024-25: 1,05405001k1.5k2022-231,0392023-241,0332024-251,054
Alva Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,039, 2023-24: 1,033, 2024-25: 1,05405001k1.5k2022-231,0392023-241,0332024-251,054
Alva Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,039, 2023-24: 1,033, 2024-25: 1,05405001k1.5k2022-231,0392023-241,0332024-251,054
Alva Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,039, 2023-24: 1,033, 2024-25: 1,05405001k1.5k2022-231,0392023-241,0332024-251,054

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,03977.013.5
2023-241,03377.713.3
2024-251,05478.113.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,582,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,448 per student

Alva Public Schools booked $3,582,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 77 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $46,495 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 30 in 100 Oklahoma districts with a figure (state median $48,166, 514 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,539,00070.9%
Special education$440,00012.3%
Vocational$261,0007.3%
Other programs$342,0009.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,640 in 2018-19, $3,816 in 2019-20, $3,558 in 2020-21, $3,418 in 2021-22, $3,448 in 2022-23.

Alva Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,640, 2019-20: $3,816, 2020-21: $3,558, 2021-22: $3,418, 2022-23: $3,44801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6402019-20$3,8162020-21$3,5582021-22$3,4182022-23$3,448
Alva Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,640, 2019-20: $3,816, 2020-21: $3,558, 2021-22: $3,418, 2022-23: $3,44801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6402019-20$3,8162020-21$3,5582021-22$3,4182022-23$3,448
Alva Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,640, 2019-20: $3,816, 2020-21: $3,558, 2021-22: $3,418, 2022-23: $3,44801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6402019-20$3,8162020-21$3,5582021-22$3,4182022-23$3,448
Alva Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,640, 2019-20: $3,816, 2020-21: $3,558, 2021-22: $3,418, 2022-23: $3,44801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6402019-20$3,8162020-21$3,5582021-22$3,4182022-23$3,448

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Alva Public Schools scored proficient or above: 36% in reading and 31% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOklahomaStudents tested
Reading and language arts36%27.2%501
Math31%24.9%500

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 46 students in Alva Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOklahoma
Four-year graduation rate90% or more81.2%
Students in the class4652,179

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 547 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Washington Elementary School24015.7not reportedSchoolwide program
Longfellow Elementary School15612.7not reportedSchoolwide program
Lincoln Elementary School15113.5not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 228 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alva Middle School22813.2not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 279 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alva High School27912.7not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Alva Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Alva Public Schools

  1. Oklahoma districts by spending per studentAlva Public Schools ranks 7 of 132 Oklahoma districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,496).#7 of 132
  2. Every school district in OklahomaAlva Public Schools is the number 131 by size of 544 Oklahoma districts, with 1,039 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#131 of 544
  3. AdairThe next larger Oklahoma district: 1,041 students in fall 2022, $11,045 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,045
  4. PerryThe next smaller Oklahoma district: 1,015 students in fall 2022, $11,372 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,372
  5. Compare Alva Public Schools with AdairEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Alva High School, its largest high school279 students in 2024-25, 12.7 per teacher.279
  7. Teacher salary spending across OklahomaAlva Public Schools spent $46,495 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $48,166); spending, not a salary.$46,495
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Alva Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Alva Public Schools?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,054 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Alva Public Schools spend per student?
    $13,496 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oklahoma median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $10,548 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,742 per student, up 9.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Alva Public Schools' money come from?
    $15,857,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 40.9% state, 49.7% local and 9.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Alva Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 183 of the 1,130 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Alva Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,582,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,448 per student. Divided by the 77 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $46,495 per teacher, more than 30 in 100 Oklahoma districts (state median $48,166). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Alva Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Alva Public Schools scored proficient or above: 36% in reading and 31% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Alva Public Schools?
    90% or more of the 46 students in Alva Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Alva Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    4002880. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25