Public schools in Angola, NY
Angola has 5 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 1 high, 1 middle, 2 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 2,341 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Lake Shore Central School District runs 4 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Angola's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Angola | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lake Shore Central School District | 4 | 2,118 | $26,498 |
| Erie 2-Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCES | 1 | 675 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
One high school in Angola, 665 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lake Shore Senior High School | 665 | 10.6 | 43.3% | Lake Shore Central |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Angola, 459 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| William G Houston Middle School | 459 | 8.9 | 45.5% | Lake Shore Central |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 elementary schools in Angola, 542 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| John T Waugh Elementary School | 295 | 8.4 | 50.2% | Lake Shore Central |
| A J Schmidt Elementary School | 247 | 10.2 | 42.1% | Lake Shore Central |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One other school in Angola, 675 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Erie 2-Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCES | 675 | 5.1 | not reported | Erie 2-Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCES |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Angola's public schools compare with New York's
The median Angola school has 8.9 students per full-time teacher, fewer than the New York median of 11.1. 40% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 53% across the state. Its median school enrolls 459 students (state 428).
| Angola | New York | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 8.9 | 11.1 |
| Median school size (students) | 459 | 428 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 40% | 53% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 80% | 85% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 7.1% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 5 Angola schools and the 4,767 New York schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Angola
- Lake Shore Central School DistrictRuns 4 of Angola's 5 public schools and spent $26,498 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$26,498
- Lake Shore Senior High School, the largest high school in Angola665 students in 2024-25, 10.6 per teacher.665
- Compare Lake Shore Central School District with Erie 2-Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCESAngola's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in New YorkNew York's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for an Angola addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in New York
Questions about schools in Angola
How many public schools are in Angola, NY?
5 public schools with an address in Angola were open in 2024-25: 1 high, 1 middle, 2 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 2,341 students.What is the largest high school in Angola?
Lake Shore Senior High School, with 665 students in 2024-25 (Lake Shore Central School District).Which districts run Angola's schools?
Lake Shore Central School District (4 schools), Erie 2-Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCES (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25