Belen Consolidated Schools

Public school district · Valencia County · New Mexico · NCES district ID 3500180

Belen Consolidated Schools spent $15,218 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 56% of the other New Mexico districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,080). Its 10 schools enrolled 3,500 students in 2024-25; 66.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,283 per student, up 13.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 62% (New Mexico: 76.5%).

Spending per student among New Mexico districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Belen Consolidated Schools in enrollment (2,562 to 3,724 students) and Belen Consolidated Schools itself.

Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Belen Consolidated Schools, FY23Grants-Cibola County Schools $20,276; Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Espanola Public Schools $16,809; Portales Municipal $15,691; Lovington Municipal Schools $15,348; Belen Consolidated Schools $15,218; Bloomfield $15,195; Los Alamos Public Schools $14,624; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; Artesia Public Schools $13,325; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kGrants-Cibola County Schools$20,276Bernalillo Public Schools$19,085Espanola Public Schools$16,809Portales Municipal$15,691Lovington Municipal Schools$15,348Belen Consolidated Schools$15,218Bloomfield$15,195Los Alamos Public Schools$14,624Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624Artesia Public Schools$13,325State median, 1,000+ students $15,080
Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Belen Consolidated Schools, FY23Grants-Cibola County Schools $20,276; Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Espanola Public Schools $16,809; Portales Municipal $15,691; Lovington Municipal Schools $15,348; Belen Consolidated Schools $15,218; Bloomfield $15,195; Los Alamos Public Schools $14,624; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; Artesia Public Schools $13,325; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kGrants-Cibola County Schools$20,276Bernalillo Public Schools$19,085Espanola Public Schools$16,809Portales Municipal$15,691Lovington Municipal Schools$15,348Belen Consolidated Schools$15,218Bloomfield$15,195Los Alamos Public Schools$14,624Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624Artesia Public Schools$13,325State median, 1,000+ students $15,080
Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Belen Consolidated Schools, FY23Grants-Cibola County Schools $20,276; Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Espanola Public Schools $16,809; Portales Municipal $15,691; Lovington Municipal Schools $15,348; Belen Consolidated Schools $15,218; Bloomfield $15,195; Los Alamos Public Schools $14,624; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; Artesia Public Schools $13,325; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.10k15k20k22.5kGrants-Cibola County Schools$20,276Bernalillo Public Schools$19,085Espanola Public Schools$16,809Portales Municipal$15,691Lovington Municipal Schools$15,348Belen Consolidated Schools$15,218Bloomfield$15,195Los Alamos Public Schools$14,624Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624Artesia Public Schools$13,325State median, 1,000+ students $15,080
Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Belen Consolidated Schools, FY23Grants-Cibola County Schools $20,276; Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Espanola Public Schools $16,809; Portales Municipal $15,691; Lovington Municipal Schools $15,348; Belen Consolidated Schools $15,218; Bloomfield $15,195; Los Alamos Public Schools $14,624; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; Artesia Public Schools $13,325; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.10k15k20k22.5kGrants-Cibola County Schools$20,276Bernalillo Public Schools$19,085Espanola Public Schools$16,809Portales Municipal$15,691Lovington Municipal Schools$15,348Belen Consolidated Schools$15,218Bloomfield$15,195Los Alamos Public Schools$14,624Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624Artesia Public Schools$13,325State median, 1,000+ students $15,080

Where the money came from

$67,115,000 in revenue: 66.4% state, 13.9% local and 19.7% federal. Total spending including $5,622,000 of capital outlay was $61,292,000, or $17,016 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Belen Consolidated Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $44,561,000; Local $9,323,000; Federal $13,231,000; total $67,115,000.
  • State$44,561,000 66%
  • Local$9,323,000 14%
  • Federal$13,231,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 40 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,602 students in 2022-23, 3,564 students in 2023-24, 3,500 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Belen Consolidated Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,602, 2023-24: 3,564, 2024-25: 3,50001k2k3k4k2022-233,6022023-243,5642024-253,500
Belen Consolidated Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,602, 2023-24: 3,564, 2024-25: 3,50001k2k3k4k2022-233,6022023-243,5642024-253,500
Belen Consolidated Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,602, 2023-24: 3,564, 2024-25: 3,50001k2k3k4k2022-233,6022023-243,5642024-253,500
Belen Consolidated Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,602, 2023-24: 3,564, 2024-25: 3,50001k2k3k4k2022-233,6022023-243,5642024-253,500

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,602228.815.7
2023-243,564221.816.1
2024-253,500229.815.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$16,969,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,711 per student

Belen Consolidated Schools booked $16,969,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 229 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $74,165 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 81 in 100 New Mexico districts with a figure (state median $66,663, 128 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Mexico teacher salary at $54,272 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$11,480,00067.7%
Special education$3,821,00022.5%
Vocational$698,0004.1%
Other programs$970,0005.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2019-20 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,559 in 2019-20, $3,651 in 2020-21, $3,866 in 2021-22, $4,711 in 2022-23.

Belen Consolidated Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,559, 2020-21: $3,651, 2021-22: $3,866, 2022-23: $4,71102k4k6k2019-20$3,5592020-21$3,6512021-22$3,8662022-23$4,711
Belen Consolidated Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,559, 2020-21: $3,651, 2021-22: $3,866, 2022-23: $4,71102k4k6k2019-20$3,5592020-21$3,6512021-22$3,8662022-23$4,711
Belen Consolidated Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,559, 2020-21: $3,651, 2021-22: $3,866, 2022-23: $4,71102k4k6k2019-20$3,5592020-21$3,6512021-22$3,8662022-23$4,711
Belen Consolidated Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,559, 2020-21: $3,651, 2021-22: $3,866, 2022-23: $4,71102k4k6k2019-20$3,5592020-21$3,6512021-22$3,8662022-23$4,711

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Belen Consolidated Schools scored proficient or above: 29% in reading and 26% in math, against 33.8% in reading and 24.5% in math across New Mexico. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Mexico, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew MexicoStudents tested
Reading and language arts29%33.8%1,773
Math26%24.5%1,774

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

62% of the 279 students in Belen Consolidated Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 76.5% across New Mexico. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew Mexico
Four-year graduation rate62%76.5%
Students in the class27925,411

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

6 elementary schools, 1,789 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
La Merced Elementary46315.7100.0%Schoolwide program
Rio Grande Elementary33211.6100.0%Schoolwide program
Gil Sanchez Elementary31614.4100.0%Schoolwide program
Dennis Chavez Elementary29413.4100.0%Schoolwide program
La Promesa Elementary23012.8100.0%Schoolwide program
Belen Family School15429.1100.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 641 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Belen Middle47515.899.8%Schoolwide program
Central Elementary16611.499.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 1,070 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Belen High95819.099.9%Schoolwide program
Belen Infinity High11211.8100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Belen Consolidated Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Belen Consolidated Schools

  1. New Mexico districts by spending per studentBelen Consolidated Schools ranks 18 of 40 New Mexico districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,218).#18 of 40
  2. Every school district in New MexicoBelen Consolidated Schools is the number 18 by size of 152 New Mexico districts, with 3,602 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#18 of 152
  3. Artesia Public SchoolsThe next larger New Mexico district: 3,722 students in fall 2022, $13,325 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,325
  4. Lovington Municipal SchoolsThe next smaller New Mexico district: 3,382 students in fall 2022, $15,348 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,348
  5. Compare Belen Consolidated Schools with Artesia Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Belen High, its largest high school958 students in 2024-25, 19.0 per teacher.958
  7. Teacher salary spending across New MexicoBelen Consolidated Schools spent $74,165 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $66,663); spending, not a salary.$74,165
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Belen Consolidated Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Belen Consolidated Schools?
    10 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high), enrolling 3,500 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Belen Consolidated Schools spend per student?
    $15,218 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Mexico median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,080 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,283 per student, up 13.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Belen Consolidated Schools' money come from?
    $67,115,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.4% state, 13.9% local and 19.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Belen Consolidated Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,163 of the 4,952 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 23.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Belen Consolidated Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $16,969,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,711 per student. Divided by the 229 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $74,165 per teacher, more than 81 in 100 New Mexico districts (state median $66,663). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Mexico teacher salary at $54,272 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Belen Consolidated Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Belen Consolidated Schools scored proficient or above: 29% in reading and 26% in math, against 33.8% in reading and 24.5% in math across New Mexico. New Mexico's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Belen Consolidated Schools?
    62% of the 279 students in Belen Consolidated Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 76.5% across New Mexico. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Belen Consolidated Schools' NCES district ID?
    3500180. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25