Union City School District

Public school district · Hudson County · New Jersey · NCES district ID 3416380

Union City School District spent $25,585 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 60% of the other New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,665). Its 14 schools enrolled 11,519 students in 2024-25; 80.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $25,960 per student, up 1.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 92% (New Jersey: 90.5%).

Spending per student among New Jersey's largest districts

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Union City ranks 5.

Current spending per student, largest New Jersey districts, FY23Passaic City Public Schools $31,631; Newark Board of Education $28,631; Jersey City Public Schools $27,184; Paterson Public Schools $25,726; Union City $25,585; Elizabeth Public Schools $24,903; Woodbridge Township $24,527; Trenton $23,249; Toms River Regional $20,919; Edison Township $19,865; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30k35kPassaic City Public Schools$31,631Newark Board of Education$28,631Jersey City Public Schools$27,184Paterson Public Schools$25,726Union City$25,585Elizabeth Public Schools$24,903Woodbridge Township$24,527Trenton$23,249Toms River Regional$20,919Edison Township$19,865State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, largest New Jersey districts, FY23Passaic City Public Schools $31,631; Newark Board of Education $28,631; Jersey City Public Schools $27,184; Paterson Public Schools $25,726; Union City $25,585; Elizabeth Public Schools $24,903; Woodbridge Township $24,527; Trenton $23,249; Toms River Regional $20,919; Edison Township $19,865; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30k35kPassaic City Public Schools$31,631Newark Board of Education$28,631Jersey City Public Schools$27,184Paterson Public Schools$25,726Union City$25,585Elizabeth Public Schools$24,903Woodbridge Township$24,527Trenton$23,249Toms River Regional$20,919Edison Township$19,865State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, largest New Jersey districts, FY23Passaic City Public Schools $31,631; Newark Board of Education $28,631; Jersey City Public Schools $27,184; Paterson Public Schools $25,726; Union City $25,585; Elizabeth Public Schools $24,903; Woodbridge Township $24,527; Trenton $23,249; Toms River Regional $20,919; Edison Township $19,865; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k25k35kPassaic City Public Schools$31,631Newark Board of Education$28,631Jersey City Public Schools$27,184Paterson Public Schools$25,726Union City$25,585Elizabeth Public Schools$24,903Woodbridge Township$24,527Trenton$23,249Toms River Regional$20,919Edison Township$19,865State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, largest New Jersey districts, FY23Passaic City Public Schools $31,631; Newark Board of Education $28,631; Jersey City Public Schools $27,184; Paterson Public Schools $25,726; Union City $25,585; Elizabeth Public Schools $24,903; Woodbridge Township $24,527; Trenton $23,249; Toms River Regional $20,919; Edison Township $19,865; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k25k35kPassaic City Public Schools$31,631Newark Board of Education$28,631Jersey City Public Schools$27,184Paterson Public Schools$25,726Union City$25,585Elizabeth Public Schools$24,903Woodbridge Township$24,527Trenton$23,249Toms River Regional$20,919Edison Township$19,865State median, 1,000+ students $24,665

Where the money came from

$374,756,000 in revenue: 80.9% state, 5.7% local and 13.4% federal. Total spending including $8,281,000 of capital outlay was $382,177,000, or $29,746 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Union City School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $303,216,000; Local $21,455,000; Federal $50,085,000; total $374,756,000.
  • State$303,216,000 81%
  • Local$21,455,000 6%
  • Federal$50,085,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 329 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

11,590 students in 2022-23, 11,588 students in 2023-24, 11,519 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Union City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,590, 2023-24: 11,588, 2024-25: 11,51905k10k15k2022-2311,5902023-2411,5882024-2511,519
Union City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,590, 2023-24: 11,588, 2024-25: 11,51905k10k15k2022-2311,5902023-2411,5882024-2511,519
Union City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,590, 2023-24: 11,588, 2024-25: 11,51905k10k15k2022-2311,5902023-2411,5882024-2511,519
Union City School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,590, 2023-24: 11,588, 2024-25: 11,51905k10k15k2022-2311,5902023-2411,5882024-2511,519

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2311,590850.013.6
2023-2411,588715.016.2
2024-2511,519838.013.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$75,375,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,867 per student

Union City School District booked $75,375,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 858 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $87,850 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 85 in 100 New Jersey districts with a figure (state median $77,508, 569 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$56,125,00074.5%
Special education$11,663,00015.5%
Other programs$7,587,00010.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,083 in 2018-19, $5,244 in 2019-20, $5,655 in 2020-21, $5,621 in 2021-22, $5,867 in 2022-23.

Union City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,083, 2019-20: $5,244, 2020-21: $5,655, 2021-22: $5,621, 2022-23: $5,86702k4k6k2018-19$5,0832019-20$5,2442020-21$5,6552021-22$5,6212022-23$5,867
Union City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,083, 2019-20: $5,244, 2020-21: $5,655, 2021-22: $5,621, 2022-23: $5,86702k4k6k2018-19$5,0832019-20$5,2442020-21$5,6552021-22$5,6212022-23$5,867
Union City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,083, 2019-20: $5,244, 2020-21: $5,655, 2021-22: $5,621, 2022-23: $5,86702k4k6k2018-19$5,0832019-20$5,2442020-21$5,6552021-22$5,6212022-23$5,867
Union City School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,083, 2019-20: $5,244, 2020-21: $5,655, 2021-22: $5,621, 2022-23: $5,86702k4k6k2018-19$5,0832019-20$5,2442020-21$5,6552021-22$5,6212022-23$5,867

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Union City School District scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 29% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Jersey, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew JerseyStudents tested
Reading and language arts51%48.6%
Math29%35.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

92% of the 928 students in Union City School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew Jersey
Four-year graduation rate92%90.5%
Students in the class928106,157

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

10 elementary schools, 5,883 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Robert Waters Elementary School98313.180.2%Schoolwide program
Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School87115.385.1%Schoolwide program
George Washington Elementary School77614.176.7%Schoolwide program
Thomas A Edison Elementary School76710.576.4%Schoolwide program
Colin Powell Elementary School69213.368.8%Schoolwide program
Veterans' Memorial Elementary School50213.283.7%Schoolwide program
Sara M. Gilmore Academy40014.342.0%Schoolwide program
Hudson Elementary School32011.062.8%Schoolwide program
Eugenio Maria de Hostos Center for Early Childhood Education3007.150.7%Schoolwide program
Jefferson Elementary School27210.175.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 1,864 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Emerson Middle School99914.978.3%Schoolwide program
Union Hill Middle School86514.778.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 3,772 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Union City High School3,14717.466.4%Schoolwide program
Jose Marti STEM Academy62511.463.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Union City School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Union City School District

  1. New Jersey districts by spending per studentUnion City School District ranks 133 of 329 New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($25,585).#133 of 329
  2. Every school district in New JerseyUnion City School District is the number 9 by size of 672 New Jersey districts, with 12,848 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#9 of 672
  3. Woodbridge Township School DistrictThe next larger New Jersey district: 13,836 students in fall 2022, $24,527 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,527
  4. Passaic City Public SchoolsThe next smaller New Jersey district: 12,834 students in fall 2022, $31,631 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$31,631
  5. Compare Union City School District with Woodbridge Township School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Union City High School, its largest high school3,147 students in 2024-25, 17.4 per teacher.3,147
  7. Teacher salary spending across New JerseyUnion City School District spent $87,850 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $77,508); spending, not a salary.$87,850
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Union City School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Union City School District?
    14 schools were open in 2024-25 (10 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high), enrolling 11,519 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Union City School District spend per student?
    $25,585 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Jersey median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,665 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $25,960 per student, up 1.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Union City School District's money come from?
    $374,756,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 80.9% state, 5.7% local and 13.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Union City School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 3,343 of the 11,107 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 30.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Union City School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $75,375,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,867 per student. Divided by the 858 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $87,850 per teacher, more than 85 in 100 New Jersey districts (state median $77,508). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Union City School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Union City School District scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 29% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. New Jersey's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Union City School District?
    92% of the 928 students in Union City School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Union City School District's NCES district ID?
    3416380. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25