Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District
Public school district · Leflore County · Mississippi · NCES district ID 2800198
Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District spent $13,241 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 76% of the other Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,203). Its 12 schools enrolled 3,718 students in 2024-25; 38.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,654 per student, down 4.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85% (Mississippi: 89.4%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Mississippi districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District in enrollment (3,542 to 4,392 students) and Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District itself.
Where the money came from
$62,652,000 in revenue: 38.2% state, 22.3% local and 39.5% federal. Total spending including $11,027,000 of capital outlay was $64,666,000, or $16,046 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$23,916,000 38%
- Local$13,977,000 22%
- Federal$24,759,000 40%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 112 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
4,030 students in 2022-23, 3,849 students in 2023-24, 3,718 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,030 | 307.0 | 13.1 |
| 2023-24 | 3,849 | 290.4 | 13.3 |
| 2024-25 | 3,718 | 268.0 | 13.9 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$15,623,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,877 per student
Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District booked $15,623,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 325 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $48,120 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 19 in 100 Mississippi districts with a figure (state median $51,076, 146 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $12,544,000 | 80.3% |
| Special education | $2,262,000 | 14.5% |
| Vocational | $494,000 | 3.2% |
| Other programs | $323,000 | 2.1% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2019-20 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,009 in 2019-20, $3,213 in 2020-21, $3,327 in 2021-22, $3,877 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District scored proficient or above: 17% in reading and 15% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Mississippi, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Mississippi | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 17% | 41.7% | 2,133 |
| Math | 15% | 47% | 1,994 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
85% of the 314 students in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Mississippi | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 85% | 89.4% |
| Students in the class | 314 | 31,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
7 elementary schools, 1,948 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Davis Elementary School | 377 | 15.6 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Leflore County Elementary School | 306 | 13.8 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Threadgill Elementary School | 295 | 14.9 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| East Elementary School | 261 | 13.4 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Bankston Elementary School | 254 | 12.9 | 99.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Claudine F Brown Elementary School | 248 | 15.3 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Threadgill Primary School | 207 | 14.8 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 middle schools, 477 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenwood Middle School | 278 | 14.6 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Amanda Elzy Junior High School | 199 | 10.8 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 high schools, 1,293 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenwood High School | 633 | 16.1 | 99.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Amanda Elzy High School | 367 | 13.5 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Leflore County High School | 293 | 10.3 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District
- Website: glcsd.org
- Phone: (662) 453-4231
- Office: 1901 Highway 82 West, Greenwood, MS 38930
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District
- Mississippi districts by spending per studentGreenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District ranks 28 of 112 Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,241).#28 of 112
- Every school district in MississippiGreenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District is the number 28 by size of 152 Mississippi districts, with 4,030 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#28 of 152
- Hancock County School DistrictThe next larger Mississippi district: 4,060 students in fall 2022, $11,907 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,907
- Scott Co School DistThe next smaller Mississippi district: 3,989 students in fall 2022, $10,252 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,252
- Compare Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District with Hancock County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Greenwood High School, its largest high school633 students in 2024-25, 16.1 per teacher.633
- Teacher salary spending across MississippiGreenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District spent $48,120 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,076); spending, not a salary.$48,120
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District
How many schools and students are in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District?
12 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 2 middle, 3 high), enrolling 3,718 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District spend per student?
$13,241 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Mississippi median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,203 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,654 per student, down 4.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District's money come from?
$62,652,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 38.2% state, 22.3% local and 39.5% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 2,134 of the 5,227 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 40.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District spend on teacher salaries?
$15,623,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,877 per student. Divided by the 325 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $48,120 per teacher, more than 19 in 100 Mississippi districts (state median $51,076). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District scored proficient or above: 17% in reading and 15% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Mississippi's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District?
85% of the 314 students in Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Greenwood-Leflore Cons Sch District's NCES district ID?
2800198. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25