East Longmeadow
Public school district · Hampden County · Massachusetts · NCES district ID 2504500
East Longmeadow spent $19,224 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 74% of the other Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $21,173). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,442 students in 2024-25; 37.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,727 per student, up 7.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 96% (Massachusetts: 89.2%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Massachusetts districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to East Longmeadow in enrollment (2,522 to 2,612 students) and East Longmeadow itself.
Where the money came from
$54,520,000 in revenue: 37.9% state, 56.2% local and 5.9% federal. Total spending including $81,000 of capital outlay was $53,995,000, or $20,985 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$20,640,000 38%
- Local$30,667,000 56%
- Federal$3,213,000 6%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 243 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
2,541 students in 2022-23, 2,507 students in 2023-24, 2,442 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 2,541 | 210.7 | 12.1 |
| 2023-24 | 2,507 | 200.7 | 12.5 |
| 2024-25 | 2,442 | 218.7 | 11.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$16,306,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,337 per student
East Longmeadow booked $16,306,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 211 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $77,349 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 33 in 100 Massachusetts districts with a figure (state median $83,840, 276 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $13,488,000 | 82.7% |
| Special education | $2,818,000 | 17.3% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,962 in 2018-19, $6,278 in 2019-20, $6,616 in 2020-21, $6,403 in 2021-22, $6,337 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in East Longmeadow scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 47% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Massachusetts | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 51% | 43.7% | 1,344 |
| Math | 47% | 40.7% | 1,350 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
96% of the 222 students in East Longmeadow's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Massachusetts | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 96% | 89.2% |
| Students in the class | 222 | 72,602 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
3 elementary schools, 1,099 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meadow Brook | 516 | 14.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Mapleshade | 297 | 12.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Mountain View | 286 | 10.7 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 590 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birchland Park | 590 | 10.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 753 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| East Longmeadow High | 753 | 9.6 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact East Longmeadow
- Website: eastlongmeadowma.gov
- Phone: (413) 525-5450
- Office: 180 Maple Street, East Longmeadow, MA 01028
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about East Longmeadow
- Massachusetts districts by spending per studentEast Longmeadow ranks 180 of 243 Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,224).#180 of 243
- Every school district in MassachusettsEast Longmeadow is the number 108 by size of 397 Massachusetts districts, with 2,573 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#108 of 397
- BedfordThe next larger Massachusetts district: 2,575 students in fall 2022, $23,503 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,503
- Dedham Public SchoolsThe next smaller Massachusetts district: 2,556 students in fall 2022, $27,349 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$27,349
- Compare East Longmeadow with BedfordEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- East Longmeadow High, its largest high school753 students in 2024-25, 9.6 per teacher.753
- Teacher salary spending across MassachusettsEast Longmeadow spent $77,349 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $83,840); spending, not a salary.$77,349
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about East Longmeadow
How many schools and students are in East Longmeadow?
5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,442 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does East Longmeadow spend per student?
$19,224 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Massachusetts median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $21,173 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,727 per student, up 7.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does East Longmeadow's money come from?
$54,520,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 37.9% state, 56.2% local and 5.9% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in East Longmeadow live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 145 of the 2,575 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does East Longmeadow spend on teacher salaries?
$16,306,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,337 per student. Divided by the 211 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $77,349 per teacher, more than 33 in 100 Massachusetts districts (state median $83,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in East Longmeadow do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in East Longmeadow scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 47% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in East Longmeadow?
96% of the 222 students in East Longmeadow's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is East Longmeadow's NCES district ID?
2504500. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25