Hopkins County Schools

Listed by NCES as Hopkins County (district ID 2102860)

Public school district · Hopkins County · Kentucky · NCES district ID 2102860

Hopkins County Schools spent $12,749 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 82% of the other Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,912). Its 14 schools enrolled 6,265 students in 2024-25; 59.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,529 per student, down 1.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 89% (Kentucky: 91.4%).

Spending per student among Kentucky districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hopkins County Schools in enrollment (5,040 to 6,968 students) and Hopkins County Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Hopkins County Schools, FY23Owensboro Public Schools $16,080; Franklin County Schools $15,057; Floyd County Schools $15,024; Campbell County Schools $14,133; Shelby County $14,040; Barren County $13,580; Clark County Schools $13,438; Henderson County Schools $13,397; McCracken County Schools $13,196; Hopkins County Schools $12,749; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16k18kOwensboro Public Schools$16,080Franklin County Schools$15,057Floyd County Schools$15,024Campbell County Schools$14,133Shelby County$14,040Barren County$13,580Clark County Schools$13,438Henderson County Schools$13,397McCracken County Schools$13,196Hopkins County Schools$12,749State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Hopkins County Schools, FY23Owensboro Public Schools $16,080; Franklin County Schools $15,057; Floyd County Schools $15,024; Campbell County Schools $14,133; Shelby County $14,040; Barren County $13,580; Clark County Schools $13,438; Henderson County Schools $13,397; McCracken County Schools $13,196; Hopkins County Schools $12,749; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k12k14k16k18kOwensboro Public Schools$16,080Franklin County Schools$15,057Floyd County Schools$15,024Campbell County Schools$14,133Shelby County$14,040Barren County$13,580Clark County Schools$13,438Henderson County Schools$13,397McCracken County Schools$13,196Hopkins County Schools$12,749State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Hopkins County Schools, FY23Owensboro Public Schools $16,080; Franklin County Schools $15,057; Floyd County Schools $15,024; Campbell County Schools $14,133; Shelby County $14,040; Barren County $13,580; Clark County Schools $13,438; Henderson County Schools $13,397; McCracken County Schools $13,196; Hopkins County Schools $12,749; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k14k18kOwensboro Public Schools$16,080Franklin County Schools$15,057Floyd County Schools$15,024Campbell County Schools$14,133Shelby County$14,040Barren County$13,580Clark County Schools$13,438Henderson County Schools$13,397McCracken County Schools$13,196Hopkins County Schools$12,749State median, 1,000+ students $13,912
Current spending per student, Kentucky districts closest in size to Hopkins County Schools, FY23Owensboro Public Schools $16,080; Franklin County Schools $15,057; Floyd County Schools $15,024; Campbell County Schools $14,133; Shelby County $14,040; Barren County $13,580; Clark County Schools $13,438; Henderson County Schools $13,397; McCracken County Schools $13,196; Hopkins County Schools $12,749; State median, 1,000+ students $13,912.10k14k18kOwensboro Public Schools$16,080Franklin County Schools$15,057Floyd County Schools$15,024Campbell County Schools$14,133Shelby County$14,040Barren County$13,580Clark County Schools$13,438Henderson County Schools$13,397McCracken County Schools$13,196Hopkins County Schools$12,749State median, 1,000+ students $13,912

Where the money came from

$91,930,000 in revenue: 59.7% state, 27.7% local and 12.5% federal. Total spending including $11,759,000 of capital outlay was $94,930,000, or $14,931 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Hopkins County Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $54,914,000; Local $25,498,000; Federal $11,518,000; total $91,930,000.
  • State$54,914,000 60%
  • Local$25,498,000 28%
  • Federal$11,518,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 137 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

6,358 students in 2022-23, 6,312 students in 2023-24, 6,265 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Hopkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,358, 2023-24: 6,312, 2024-25: 6,26502k4k6k8k2022-236,3582023-246,3122024-256,265
Hopkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,358, 2023-24: 6,312, 2024-25: 6,26502k4k6k8k2022-236,3582023-246,3122024-256,265
Hopkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,358, 2023-24: 6,312, 2024-25: 6,26502k4k6k8k2022-236,3582023-246,3122024-256,265
Hopkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,358, 2023-24: 6,312, 2024-25: 6,26502k4k6k8k2022-236,3582023-246,3122024-256,265

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-236,358422.315.1
2023-246,312411.615.3
2024-256,265419.214.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$23,849,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,751 per student

Hopkins County Schools booked $23,849,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 429 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $55,558 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 41 in 100 Kentucky districts with a figure (state median $56,497, 171 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$17,566,00073.7%
Special education$5,903,00024.8%
Vocational$379,0001.6%
Other programs$1,0000.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,319 in 2018-19, $3,255 in 2019-20, $3,384 in 2020-21, $3,538 in 2021-22, $3,751 in 2022-23.

Hopkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,319, 2019-20: $3,255, 2020-21: $3,384, 2021-22: $3,538, 2022-23: $3,75101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3192019-20$3,2552020-21$3,3842021-22$3,5382022-23$3,751
Hopkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,319, 2019-20: $3,255, 2020-21: $3,384, 2021-22: $3,538, 2022-23: $3,75101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3192019-20$3,2552020-21$3,3842021-22$3,5382022-23$3,751
Hopkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,319, 2019-20: $3,255, 2020-21: $3,384, 2021-22: $3,538, 2022-23: $3,75101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3192019-20$3,2552020-21$3,3842021-22$3,5382022-23$3,751
Hopkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,319, 2019-20: $3,255, 2020-21: $3,384, 2021-22: $3,538, 2022-23: $3,75101k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3192019-20$3,2552020-21$3,3842021-22$3,5382022-23$3,751

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Hopkins County Schools scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 38% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kentucky, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtKentuckyStudents tested
Reading and language arts43%44.7%3,376
Math38%37.8%3,376

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

89% of the 457 students in Hopkins County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtKentucky
Four-year graduation rate89%91.4%
Students in the class45749,023

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

7 elementary schools, 3,068 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Southside Elementary School54914.965.9%Schoolwide program
Hanson Elementary School53216.140.2%Schoolwide program
West Broadway Elementary School48617.459.3%Schoolwide program
Jesse Stuart Elementary School48615.766.7%Schoolwide program
Pride Elementary School40415.657.9%Schoolwide program
Grapevine Elementary School31812.761.0%Schoolwide program
West Hopkins School29312.258.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 middle schools, 1,209 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
James Madison Middle School46618.542.7%Schoolwide program
Browning Springs Middle School44315.258.2%Schoolwide program
South Hopkins Middle School30012.255.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 1,913 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Madisonville North Hopkins High School1,02316.441.5%Schoolwide program
Hopkins County Central High School86114.155.5%Schoolwide program
Hopkins County Day Treatment296.489.7%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 75 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hopkins County Schools Academy758.868.0%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Earlington Elementary School

School in Earlington; 277 students; 13.0 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Hopkins County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Hopkins County Schools

  1. Kentucky districts by spending per studentHopkins County Schools ranks 112 of 137 Kentucky districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,749).#112 of 137
  2. Every school district in KentuckyHopkins County Schools is the number 20 by size of 174 Kentucky districts, with 6,358 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#20 of 174
  3. Shelby CountyThe next larger Kentucky district: 6,935 students in fall 2022, $14,040 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,040
  4. Franklin County SchoolsThe next smaller Kentucky district: 6,126 students in fall 2022, $15,057 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,057
  5. Compare Hopkins County Schools with Shelby CountyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Madisonville North Hopkins High School, its largest high school1,023 students in 2024-25, 16.4 per teacher.1,023
  7. Teacher salary spending across KentuckyHopkins County Schools spent $55,558 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $56,497); spending, not a salary.$55,558
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Hopkins County Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Hopkins County Schools?
    14 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 3 middle, 3 high, 1 other), enrolling 6,265 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Hopkins County Schools spend per student?
    $12,749 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kentucky median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,912 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,529 per student, down 1.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Hopkins County Schools' money come from?
    $91,930,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 59.7% state, 27.7% local and 12.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Hopkins County Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,519 of the 7,311 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 20.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Hopkins County Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $23,849,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,751 per student. Divided by the 429 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $55,558 per teacher, more than 41 in 100 Kentucky districts (state median $56,497). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kentucky teacher salary at $54,574 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Hopkins County Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Hopkins County Schools scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 38% in math, against 44.7% in reading and 37.8% in math across Kentucky. Kentucky's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Hopkins County Schools?
    89% of the 457 students in Hopkins County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 91.4% across Kentucky. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Hopkins County Schools' NCES district ID?
    2102860. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25